Modify

#342 closed defect (notabug)

In GTALK, setting a user to never show up removes them completely from bitlebee

Reported by: armando@… Owned by:
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Jabber Version: 1.0.3
Keywords: Cc:
IRC client+version: Client-independent Operating System: Public server
OS version/distro:

Description (last modified by dx)

In the gtalk interface in gmail, you can only show a small percentage of your contacts and so i usually set a few of them to never show up but it doesnt mean remove them, it just means when i need to talk to them, I have to find them in the contact list myself. However, i noticed that in bitlbee, the user is completely removed. and trying to talk to them results in a no nick in this channel.

09:58 -!- randomuser: No such nick/channel

some xmlconsole output.

adding a user to "auto" show up

10:01 <xmlconsole> RX: <iq to="me@randomdomain/BitlBeeFDE957C3" id="3D83D624" type="set"><query xmlns="jabber:iq:roster"><item jid="randomuser@randomdomain.com" subscription="both"/></query></iq>

making a user "never" show up

10:01 <xmlconsole> RX: <iq to="me@randomdomain/BitlBeeFDE957C3" id="3D83D721" type="set"><query xmlns="jabber:iq:roster"><item jid="randomuser@randomdomain.com" subscription="remove"/></query></iq>

Attachments (0)

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed at 2008-03-15T23:04:39Z by wilmer

Component: BitlBeeJabber

Changing component. Keeping this bug for after the 1.2 release, probably.

comment:2 Changed at 2015-03-16T03:20:45Z by dx

Description: modified (diff)

Huh, this still applies. It's the server literally telling us to remove the contact from the roster, though. I'd say we're doing the right thing here and it's not a bug.

(edited description to add code blocks)

comment:3 in reply to:  2 Changed at 2015-10-21T11:26:44Z by dx

Resolution: notabug
Status: newclosed

Replying to dx:

Huh, this still applies. It's the server literally telling us to remove the contact from the roster, though. I'd say we're doing the right thing here and it's not a bug.

Closing for that reason.

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed The ticket will remain with no owner.
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.