Modify

#43 closed defect (worksforme)

ISON(/notify) bugs

Reported by: jmunson@… Owned by:
Priority: minor Milestone:
Component: BitlBee Version: 0.99
Keywords: ison notify Cc:
IRC client+version: irssi Operating System: Linux
OS version/distro:

Description

I'm not sure under which exact circumstances, but often when using /notify bitlbee will report that a client is online after every message they send. This has happened on yahoo and on aim, and tested on multiple bitlbee servers/users. It may or may not be related to invisibility mode--It seemed to trigger when I first toggled it on and off, but then kept announcing when I left it on.

An example /rawlog can be found at http://f0rked.com/temp2/semi-notify.log

Attachments (0)

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed at 2005-12-03T10:22:21Z by wilmer

I don't think this is a BitlBee bug. At least I don't see anything strange in the logfile. /NOTIFY works with polling, BitlBee doesn't send "is online" messages out of the blue (actually, it can do that too, if your IRC client supports WATCH). So maybe irssi decides to tell you that the person is there every time a message comes in, but that's not BitlBee's fault. Are you sure this is not an away message instead?

Because, about the other thing you said in #bitlbee:

05:51:24     f0rked| so, I've got handle_unknown set to 'add', and whenever someone
                     who is not on my contact list (aim) messages me, I can talk to
                     them, but I frequently get '<nick> is away: User is offline'.
                     What's causing this?

That's also intended behaviour. IRC servers *should* send the away response every time a client sends a PM to someone who is away. It's the job of the IRC client to determine when to display it, and when not.

So can I close this now? ;-)

comment:2 Changed at 2005-12-04T01:27:29Z by wilmer

Resolution: worksforme
Status: newclosed

BitlBee behaves how it should. It's up to the IRC client to suppress the away state replies.

comment:3 Changed at 2005-12-04T13:22:41Z by f0rked

[clarification] I didn't submit that, I just hosted the log. ;)

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed The ticket will remain with no owner.
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.