Changeset 23445b6


Ignore:
Timestamp:
2012-02-11T00:27:56Z (8 years ago)
Author:
Wilmer van der Gaast <wilmer@…>
Branches:
master
Children:
7fa5c19
Parents:
00d6760
Message:

Stop talking about "the control channel" since there isn't necessarily just
one, since 3.0 already.

Location:
doc/user-guide
Files:
2 edited

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
  • doc/user-guide/commands.xml

    r00d6760 r23445b6  
    814814        </bitlbee-setting>
    815815
    816         <bitlbee-setting name="control_channel" type="string" scope="global">
    817                 <default>&amp;bitlbee</default>
    818 
    819                 <description>
    820                         <para>
    821                                 Normally the control channel where you can see all your contacts is called "&amp;bitlbee". If you don't like this name, you can rename it to anything else using the <emphasis>rename</emphasis> command, or by changing this setting.
    822                         </para>
    823                 </description>
    824         </bitlbee-setting>
    825 
    826816        <bitlbee-setting name="chat_type" type="string" scope="channel">
    827817                <default>groupchat</default>
     
    871861                <description>
    872862                        <para>
    873                                 Some debugging messages can be sent to the control channel if you wish. They're probably not really useful for you, unless you're doing some development on BitlBee.
     863                                Some debugging messages can be logged if you wish. They're probably not really useful for you, unless you're doing some development on BitlBee.
     864                        </para>
     865                       
     866                        <para>
     867                                This feature is not currently used for anything so don't expect this to generate any output.
    874868                        </para>
    875869                </description>
     
    882876                <description>
    883877                        <para>
    884                                 With this value set to <emphasis>root</emphasis>, lines written in the control channel without any nickname in front of them will be interpreted as commands. If you want BitlBee to send those lines to the last person you addressed in the control channel, set this to <emphasis>last</emphasis>.
     878                                With this value set to <emphasis>root</emphasis>, lines written in a control channel without any nickname in front of them will be interpreted as commands. If you want BitlBee to send those lines to the last person you addressed in that control channel, set this to <emphasis>last</emphasis>.
    885879                        </para>
    886880                </description>
     
    12601254                <description>
    12611255                        <para>
    1262                                 If value is true, messages from users will appear in separate query windows. If false, messages from users will appear in the control channel.
     1256                                If value is true, messages from users will appear in separate query windows. If false, messages from users will appear in a control channel.
    12631257                        </para>
    12641258
     
    13971391                <description>
    13981392                        <para>
    1399                                 Some IRC clients parse quit messages sent by the IRC server to see if someone really left or just disappeared because of a netsplit. By default, BitlBee tries to simulate netsplit-like quit messages to keep the control channel window clean. If you don't like this (or if your IRC client doesn't support this) you can disable this setting.
     1393                                Some IRC clients parse quit messages sent by the IRC server to see if someone really left or just disappeared because of a netsplit. By default, BitlBee tries to simulate netsplit-like quit messages to keep the control channels window clean. If you don't like this (or if your IRC client doesn't support this) you can disable this setting.
    14001394                        </para>
    14011395                </description>
  • doc/user-guide/misc.xml

    r00d6760 r23445b6  
    5656
    5757<para>
    58 As soon as someone invites you into a groupchat, you will be force-joined or invited (depending on the protocol) into a new virtual channel with all the people in there. You can leave the channel at any time, just like you would close the window in regular IM clients. Please note that root-commands don't work in groupchat channels, they only work in the control channel (or to root directly).
     58As soon as someone invites you into a groupchat, you will be force-joined or invited (depending on the protocol) into a new virtual channel with all the people in there. You can leave the channel at any time, just like you would close the window in regular IM clients. Please note that root-commands don't work in groupchat channels, they only work in control channels (or to root directly).
    5959</para>
    6060
Note: See TracChangeset for help on using the changeset viewer.